Goals

I can be such a fruitcake sometimes. I used to throw these New Years Resolution Parties in which 20+ of my closest friends would share their goals for the year, and if they didn’t have one, we would give them one. Everyone has that friend who has “always wanted to -FILL IN THE BLANK” but for whatever reason: fear, time, resources, etc – have never attained it.

It was awesome to see God’s faithfulness and what was accomplished in the journey a year later. One friend enrolled cosmetology school and is now a successful hairstylist, another decided on paint colors for the house, another met a girl and got married. Things that weren’t on the horizon before, now they had lived it out.

So what makes a goal?  It has to be SMART.

Specific

Measurable

Attainable

Realistic 

Timely

The “I’m wanna lose weight” goals are great, but tell me HOW MUCH and WHEN and you’ll have me following you around like a heat-seeking missile asking how the progress is doing every so often. I’ll even log your goals in my calendar. I love to  celebrate when others reach their goals. It’s inspiring. Call me weird. No seriously, do it.

So what are some of my SHORT and LONG TERM? In no particular order, here goes:

  1. Speak spanish fluently
  2. Go on a medical mission trip
  3. Teach someone how to drive stick shift
  4. See an Aurora Borealis
  5. Snorkel/Scuba Dive the Great Barrier Reef
  6. Rock a Farmer’s Market
  7. Visit Israel
  8. Read through the Bible in a year.
  9. Read the Bible cover to cover in Spanish
  10. Run a marathon (top trained at 14miles then got injured)
  11. Organize a 5k
  12. Write a book *recently inspired by my friend Ethan.
  13. Take a culinary class (believe me, I’m no Rachel Ray- I’m sure Jonathan would appreciate this one!)
  14. Wash someone’s feet 
  15. Visit Compassion kids
  16. Teach someone to read (besides my kids!)
  17. Memorize the book of Proverbs
  18. Waterbirth/Homebirth
  19. Teach someone to swim- (besides my kids!)
  20. Play on a CD
  21. Ride in hot air balloon
  22. Start a business
  23. Take Jonathan to see the Mayan ruins and the Cenotes
  24. Become a Master Gardener
  25. Disciple 3 girls/year
  26. Save a life
  27. Speak at a large event, 1,000+ people
  28. Compete in Ballroom dance
  29. Give away $1m
  30. Take photography class

All these things are totally cool. I add and reevaluate this list every so often. There’s so much not on this list that has been accomplished and it’s only by His grace. But y’know what my real goal is? To hear these words one day,

“Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!” Matthew 25:21 (one of my fave parables)

So whether or not I hit every single one of these goals  isn’t going to measure my self worth. I’m a success if I’m aligned to what He’s wants me to do and ultimately if He says I am.

I’d love to know what YOUR goals are!  Feel free to keep me posted:)

Commit your work to the Lord,
    and your plans will be established. Proverbs 16:3 

 

In His Grip,

Amy

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goals

  1. My thought after reading the intro was, “Man, I don’t have any goals.”, I mean, of course I HAVE them, but I haven’t taken any time to write them down and that’s the first step closer towards accomplishing goals..sheesh. A lot of our goals are similar and some of yours have actually inspired me, like scuba diving (I’m completely freaked out by sea life). I definitely see you accomplishing #25. You have such a unique/inspiring/loving spirit!

    I also love Mat. 25:21! Thank you for an eye opening read!

Leave a comment